Markus Schulz – Buenos Aires ’13 Album Review

markus schulz official 2012Markus Schulz, 38 year old, German, veteran Trance producer, and founder of Coldharbour Recordings releases a brand new 2 part CD mix of his tracks along with tracks from fellow Coldharbour Artists. Some of the artists are KhoMHa, Rex Mundi, Protoculture, and Solarstone just to name a few partake in one of the greatest Trance albums of 2013. This album takes us on a journey to Buenos Aires, Argentina and gives us the sounds and the admiration of fans that love the Coldharbour Sound. Since it’ll be too much to write about each song in particular I thought it would be best to give you my favorite picks from both CDs.

From CD1 one of my favorite tracks comes from KhoMHa called “Cyclone.” Cyclone is a high energy driven track that is created with saw arpeggiators, and a full layered synth that brings the track to another level.

The next track is Aureolo by Rex Mundi, This track has a dark atmospheric synth that creates the mood and is slightly changing while it resides in the background. In the climax of the track, it is heavily compressed to give it a more bouncy and exhilarating drop.

“Markus Schulz Presents Dakota – Barracas” gives off a classic euro trance synth with an arp like sound echoing through out the track. If you guys want some classic Markus Schulz this is definitely the track to obtain.

“Markus Schulz featuring Ana Diaz – Nothing Without Me (Markus Schulz Shadows of Coldharbour Remix)” Markus Schulz comes back and revisits his song Nothing Without Me to give it a more depressing, dark, yet uplifting version modernizing this classic track. The vocals are amazing and captivating that it follows the sadness of the synths, and it is complemented beautifully.

“Markus Schulz – Remember This” is leaning more into the hard trance genre but its a great mix between hard trance and regular trance. His synths are a variety of both trance and sounds that Hardwell makes in his productions.

From CD2

“Protoculture – Talisman” This is the first track to start of the second CD, which in my opinion was a great choice. This track has a slightly detuned synth that gives it a sense of unison and creates a great opening for the break.

“Markus Schulz & Rex Mundi – Towards the Sun” has a electro beat and some dirty saw synths that give it more of an electro feel for a trance song. The pianos that come in after the drop give it an uplifting feel to it.

“KhoMHa – Dimensional” This track is as driven as his song Cyclone except the synth is a bit more compressed letting the chords fill in the extra sound giving it a more trance feel.

“Elevation Vs Grube & Hovsepian – Fair Winds” This track has one of the best build ups on this album, it definitely delivers the bass and the hi hats complement the kicks so well.

“Solid Stone – Scrambled” I really love the synths on this track because its very reminiscent to the Anjunabeats/Enhanced Sounds on most of their releases. Its a solid track from beginning to end.

“Digital X – Phantom” This track also brings back a lot of classical elements from Tiesto tracks back when he started making Trance. It sounds like this could be a Tiesto track if he still continued that path of making Trance.

“Skytech – The Other Side” This is another hard hitting tracks that should definitely be played as a closer to keep the crowd wanting more. Some of the synths remind me of Sun & Moon and also Silvia(Sebastian Ingrosso & Dirty South Remix)

The last song I want to mention on here is “Solarstone – Solarcoaster (Markus Schulz Coldharbour Remix)” This is the icing on the cake of this album. Great use of the synths, harmonizing with one another giving it a out of this world sound with a very happy and melodic mood.

Overall this a great buy for any Trance fan out there, and even if your not a huge trance fan theres no harm in checking out this album and listening it to yourself. This album is by far one of the greatest trance albums of 2013. Yes even better than Armin’s “Intense”, as much as I love Armin this album performs way better and it stays consistent in quality and sound.

Disc 1
01. Marscela – Momento de Gloria
02. Sequ3l – We Evolve
03. Sensetive5 – Sin City
04. Crystal Design – Scarface
05. Rodg & Ruben de Ronde – Remain Different
06. Tucandeo – To an End
07. KhoMha – Cyclone
08. Rex Mundi – Aureolo
09. Ruffault – Progressive Dreams
10. Grube & Hovsepian – Palermo
11. Danilo Ercole – Point of View
12. Markus Schulz presents Dakota – Barracas
13. Wellenrausch & Basil O’Glue – Wickaninnish4. Markus Schulz featuring Ana Diaz – Nothing Without Me (Markus
Schulz Shadows of Coldharbour Remix)
15. M.I.K.E. – Before Dawn
16. Markus Schulz – Remember This
17. Mr. Pit – Catch Me
18. Aaron Camz – Suburbia
19. Rex Mundi – Backpain
Disc 2
01. Protoculture – Talisman
02. Markus Schulz & Rex Mundi – Towards the Sun
03. KhoMha – Dimensional
04. Digital X – Stratosphere
05. Purple Stories – Praia da Adraga
06. Danilo Ercole – Freezing Rain
07. Fisherman & Hawkins vs. Nifra – The Battle
08. Elevation vs. Grube & Hovsepian – Fair Winds
09. Vassilakis & Tarr – Galea
10. Grube & Hovsepian – Trickster
11. Basil O’Glue – Gilgamesh
12. Solid Stone – Scrambled
13. Markus Schulz – Mardi Gras
14. Harry Square – Royal Flush
15. Digital X – Phantom
16. Skytech – The Other Side
17. Elevation – Stadium Control
18. Solarstone – Solarcoaster (Markus Schulz Coldharbour Remix)
19. Marscela – Viaje Completo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s